The volcanic Caves of Lanzarote

Birch Tales
3 min readJul 8, 2024

Summer didn’t fully begin until I changed time zones and my warm hoodie for shorts & Hawaiian at the airport bathroom.

Destination: Lanzarote, Canary Islands 🇮🇨

Lanzarote is located in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of North Africa and offers its visitors a unique volcanic landscape, sand beaches and more Irish pubs per kilometre than you can find in Dublin. After a few days of day drinking and deep psychological analysis of our friends (gossiping), we decided to explore some caves.

An hour's worth of on and off bus rides through the arid mountains. A 15-minute walk up a road that would make a perfect set for the next season of Narcos.

Finally, our destination was down below; the beautiful volcanic caves that my friend suspiciously told me not to google after announcing our plans for the day.

Lisa, our guide, looked exactly like I expected a geologist to look (I hope her colleagues can forgive me for stereotyping). Curious eyes behind square glasses, black curls just short enough not to need to be tied back when climbing to get some shiny rock and the cargo pants of someone who will do so if given a reason.

She announced her warnings summarised by; Don’t fall, and once failing to bring order to the procession in front of us welcomed it into the cave’s cool…

--

--